Translation quality control in 67 languages

No one pays much attention to translations when they are done correctly; but a bad translation always jumps right out at you.

A translation error can even be the source of an ongoing international conflict. For example, one of the paragraphs in UN Security Council Resolution 242, adopted in 1967, required that Israeli armed forces completely withdraw from territories they gained in the Six-Day War. The paragraph as translated, however, is open to two interpretations.

In the English-language version of the resolution, the definite article “the” is left out before the word “territories” in the phrase: “Withdrawal of Israeli armed forces from territories occupied in the recent conflict.

Much rides on the presence or absence of that one missing article. According to one interpretation, Israel has ignored Resolution 242 for more than 50 years; while according to another, it immediately acquiesced  to it. Therefore, due to the vagueness of the phrase, the lives of nearly 13 million people remain in the balance.

We provide translations that are so good that no one notices them.

We’ve developed a proven system and team to accomplish this.

  • We choose the most suitable, sector-specific translators.
    Our translators are highly specialized in terms of their respective languages and sector specializations. Most are experts in specific fields – in the petrochemical industry, for example, or pharmaceuticals, or corporate law. And they specialize in translating in a specific direction – from English to Russian, or Russian to French, for example. When a client sends us a drilling-equipment rental agreement for translation from Russian to English, we choose the professional who works in this particular language pair, specializes in legal documents, and has a strong knowledge of oil and gas terminology.
  • Our translations are all reviewed by native-speaker editors.
    We send completed translations to an editor who is a native speaker and a specialist in a specific area. His or her task is to check the style of the translation and proper use of terms.
  • We provide quality layouts.
    We always present our clients with well formatted texts and documents. It’s our pleasure to work with them and to provide the highest standards in all of our work.

Most of our translations are to and from English, though we work with all European languages, as well as Arabic, Chinese, Japanese, and other Asia-Pacific languages. Our most interesting and complex projects in terms of quality control of the translation were translations from English to Indonesian, English to Greek, and English to Chinese.

How do we control translation quality with less common language pairs?

For more atypical translation work, we employ only translators with experience working for the Russian Ministry of Foreign Affairs and the Institute of Asian and African Studies. We also ask that these translators confirm their experience with additional recommendations.

If our management cannot personally verify the quality of a final translation (due to unfamiliarity with that language), we hire, not one, but at least two independent editors who are native speakers. In this way, we can ensure that the final text meets our highest quality standards for content and format.

We perform all of these multi-step reviews for a good reason: We’re proud of the services that we provide and are always confident of the quality of the translations we present to our clients.

What does this mean? If we take on your project, it will be done by the highest professional standards and precisely on time. You won’t have to proofread the translation yourself over the weekend in order to send it along to your colleagues without misgivings. Your weekends are your own, and your translation work is in the most capable and professional hands.

If you have a translation project, please contact us.

Контроль качества переводов на 67 языках, с которыми мы работаем

В ноябре 1967 года была принята резолюция Совета Безопасности ООН 242 . Один из ее пунктов предписывает полностью вывести войска с территорий, которые Израиль занял в ходе Шестидневной войны. Однако этот пункт можно интерпретировать по-разному.

В английском варианте резолюции во фразе “Withdrawal of Israel armed forces from territories occupied in the recent conflict” опущен определенный артикль “the” перед словом “territories”.

Возможно, это сделано специально, чтобы определить степень необходимого вывода войск путем переговоров. Ставки в этом споре высоки: Израиль игнорирует резолюцию 242 в одном прочтении уже более 50 лет, в другом ­он сразу же ей подчинился. Из-за неопределенности в этом пункте жизни почти 13 миллионов человек находятся под угрозой.

Переводы как технические решения никто не замечает, пока они сделаны хорошо, но некачественный перевод бросается в глаза. (И провоцирует военные конфликты.)

Мы точно знаем, как делать хорошие переводы, чтобы вы их не замечали.

Для этого мы разработали такую систему.

  • Выбираем наиболее подходящего переводчика.
    На нас работают проверенные профессионалы. Переводчиков  «широкого профиля» среди них не много, как правило, чаще это специалисты в определенной отрасли (например, нефтехимии, фармацевтике или корпоративном праве), работающие с конкретным направлением перевода (например, с английского на русский или с русского на французский). Когда клиент приносит нам для перевода с русского на английский язык договор аренды бурового оборудования, мы подбираем профессионала, который работает именно с этой языковой парой, специализируется на юридических документах и хорошо знаком с нефтегазовой терминологией.
  • Отдаем на проверку редактору – носителю языка.
    Полученный перевод мы передаем редактору – носителю языка, специалисту в конкретной области. Его задача — проверить стиль перевода и грамотное употребление терминов.
  • Выверяем оформление.
    Мы всегда отдаем хорошо отформатированные тексты. С ними приятно работать.

Большая часть переводов у нас, конечно, с английского и на английский. Но мы работаем со всеми европейскими языками, а также арабским, китайским, японским и другими языками Юго-Восточной Азии — в любых комбинациях. Самыми интересными и сложными проектами с точки зрения контроля качества перевода для нас оказались переводы с английского на индонезийский, с английского на греческий и с английского на китайский.

 

Как мы контролируем качество перевода в таких редких языковых парах?

Для перевода на редкие языки мы привлекаем переводчиков только с опытом работы в МИД и Институте стран Азии и Африки и просим подтвердить опыт рекомендациями.

Если мы сами не можем проверить финальный вариант (например, на китайский), мы используем не одного, а как минимум двух независимых редакторов – носителей языка. Так мы можем быть уверены, что полученный текст соответствует нашим стандартам качества по содержанию и по форме.

Все эти сложности и многоступенчатые проверки мы делаем не просто так. Мы гордимся реализованными проектами и всегда уверены в качестве переводов, которые сдаем клиентам.

Что это означает для вас? Если мы беремся за проект, это значит, что он будет сделан качественно и в срок. Вам не надо будет вычитывать полученный перевод в выходные, чтобы без опаски предъявить его коллегам. Ваши выходные под нашей защитой — и все артикли на местах.

 

Если у вас есть проект на перевод, напишите нам.