Five Reasons Why You Should Use CAT Tools for Your Translation Projects

As long as machine translation uses artificial intelligence to develop, we are going to be using Computer-Assisted Translation (CAT) tools to improve translation-services quality and speed, and to ensure the consistency of terminology. CAT refers to the translation management system that makes use of a software program that facilitates translation by providing a translator with an opportunity to quickly find and reuse already translated texts and fragments. There are several systems on the market. The most popular are SDL Trados, Memsource, MEMOQ, Wordfast, and Deja vu. They all work according to the same principle. Despite the fact that each of these systems has its own unique features, translation memory can be exported from one system and imported into another.

 

Customers Benefit If Translation Companies Use Computer-Assisted Translation (CAT) Tools, and Here Are Just a Few Reasons Why:

 

  1. High Speed and Productivity When Translating Regular Texts

Translation memory, which is basically a large database, stores all the texts and their translations within a project.

If a translation company uses CAT tools, the previously translated source texts and their equivalent target texts are stored in a database. These text segments can be found in contracts, such as with force majeure clauses. It is enough just to review and proofread them if necessary. It’s much faster than translating a text over again, even if it’s something you have already worked with.

 

  1. Consistency of Terminology: Better Quality at a Lower Cost

Consistency is a must when it comes to translating. Terms, abbreviations, product names, and other key elements should be referred to in the same way throughout all materials. This is possible without the use of CAT tools if one person with a thorough knowledge of the project’s background works on it throughout. However, if there are too many names or abbreviations, one person’s memory may not be enough. What if there is more than one translator involved in a project? Using the terminology database is considered the high-quality standard in the industry.

In the past, customers had to deal with developing translation glossaries, which are alphabetical lists of terms, preferred translation options, or words found in or relating to a specific subject or text. The use of a translation glossary greatly enhances the consistency of a text, but it does not eliminate the human factor. A translator may accidentally use a synonym instead of an approved term. This won’t happen if you use CAT tools: After all the terms are entered into the database, the system finds them in the source text and checks for their presence in the translation.

 

  1. Coordinated Team Work

It sometimes happens that customers order the translation of large documents or entire projects as a rush job. Most of these orders come from companies providing legal and financial consultancy services. We have translated 700 pages for one of our customers within five days, for example.

Is that a lot or a little? A good translator is able to translate eight-to-twelve pages a day. Therefore it’s basic to understand that it will take one person up to three months to get the job done.

In such cases, we assemble a team of translators and significantly reduce the actual load on each of them through the use of translation memory tools. There can be many similar segments in the text, each of which has to be translated once, while repetitions need only be proofread. Thus, we ensure consistency throughout the text.

We use Memsource to deal with incoming orders. It is one of the most reliable systems, and simple to use. We work only with professional and experienced translators, the best of the best. Each of them undergoes thorough Memsource training, and only then do we engage them in major projects.

 

  1. Reduced Translation Costs

The use of CAT tools can significantly reduce translation costs. This is particularly the case for industries for which there are many regular texts. When you load a new document into the system, the program calculates the percentage of conformity of each segment (paragraph, sentence) with the previously translated text. It is enough just to revise 100% matches, whereas 80 to 90% of matches can be translated additionally and proofread if necessary. If the text is not unique, the cost coefficient is lowered and the translation cost is less.

What size should translation memory be so that the effect of its use becomes noticeable?

Much depends on the similarity of the translated texts in this regard. In some cases, the matches are already visible when the second document of the same project is being translated. Translation memory, which can be considered a full-fledged translation tool, contains about 80-120 thousand segments (approximately 1,000 pages).

If you work with a translation company, you can discuss the use of CAT tools for your projects.

 

  1. Ability to Check the Translation Status at Any Time

Our coordinators use CAT tools to monitor the status of every project. They track progress (percentage-wise) for each translator online. If a translator deviates from their schedule, the coordinators respond as necessary.

Statistics indicate that errors arise from carelessness or haste. By controlling the process, we ensure that all of our translators have an optimal work/accuracy rate, which means that the translations are of top-notch quality.

5 причин, почему выгодно использовать CAT-системы в переводческих проектах

Пока на основе искусственного интеллекта развивается машинный перевод, мы используем CAT-системы, чтобы повысить качество и скорость перевода и обеспечить единообразие терминологии. CAT (от английского computer aided translation) — это система управления переводческой памятью, которая позволяет быстро находить и повторно использовать уже переведенные тексты и фрагменты из них. Таких систем несколько, самые известные — SDL Trados, Memsource, memoQ, Wordfast и Deja vu. Хотя у каждой из них есть свои особенности, переводческую память можно выгружать из одной системы и загружать в другой.

Клиентам выгодно, когда агентство использует в работе системы автоматизированного перевода, и вот почему.

1. Высокая скорость и продуктивность при переводе типовых текстов.
В переводческой памяти, этой большой базе данных, хранятся все тексты по проекту и их переводы.
Если агентство использует систему автоматизированного перевода, то уже сохраненные в базе типовые пункты, которые встречаются в договорах, например с описанием форс-мажорных ситуаций, достаточно проверить и отредактировать при необходимости. Это гораздо быстрее, чем с самого начала переводить пусть даже знакомый текст.

2. Терминологическое единообразие: стабильное качество с меньшими затратами.
При переводе всего проекта необходимо единообразие: термины, аббревиатуры, наименования продуктов и другие ключевые элементы должны называться одинаково во всех материалах. Это возможно и без применения систем автоматизированного перевода, если над проектом работает один человек, который досконально знает историю вопроса. И то, если наименований много, памяти одного человека становится недостаточно. А что делать, если над проектом работает несколько переводчиков или исполнитель постоянно меняется? Стандартом качества в отрасли считается использование терминологической базы.
Раньше для этих целей клиенты разрабатывали глоссарии — списки основных терминов и предпочтительных вариантов перевода. Использование глоссария значительно повышает единообразие текста, но не защищает от человеческого фактора: переводчик может случайно употребить синоним вместо утвержденного термина. При работе с CAT-системой это исключено: после занесения терминов в базу система находит их в оригинальном тексте и проверяет наличие в переводе.

3. Координация командной работы.
Бывает, что перевод больших документов или целых проектов нужен срочно. (Больше всего таких запросов от финансовых и юридических консультантов.) Для одного из наших клиентов мы перевели 700 страниц за 5 дней.
Много это или мало? Хороший переводчик делает 8–12 учетных страниц в день. Несложно посчитать, что у одного человека такая работа займет два-три месяца.
Мы собрали команду из 9 переводчиков и благодаря использованию переводческой памяти значительно уменьшили фактическую нагрузку (в тексте было много однотипных элементов, каждый из которых надо было перевести один раз, а повторения только вычитать) и обеспечили единообразие всего текста.
Для выполнения заказов мы используем Memsource — это одна из самых надежных систем, которая достаточно проста в использовании. Специалистов, с которыми мы сотрудничаем (это только лучшие переводчики), мы обучаем работе в Memsource и привлекаем к крупным проектам.

4. Уменьшение расходов на перевод.
Использование CAT-систем может значительно снизить расходы на перевод. В первую очередь это касается отраслей, в которых много типовых текстов. При загрузке нового документа в систему программа рассчитывает процент совпадения каждого сегмента (абзаца, предложения) с уже переведенным текстом. 100% совпадения достаточно проверить, а совпадения на 80–90% — доперевести и отредактировать. При низкой уникальности текста стоимость работ можно рассчитывать с понижающим коэффициентом.
Какого размера должна быть переводческая память, чтобы эффект ее использования стал заметен?
Многое зависит от «шаблонности» текстов. В некоторых случаях совпадения видны уже при переводе второго однотипного документа в рамках одного проекта. Переводческая память, которая может считаться полноценным инструментом, содержит от 80–120 тысяч сегментов (это примерно 1000 учетных страниц).
Если вы работаете с агентством переводов, вы можете обсудить использование CAT-систем для ваших проектов.

5. Проверка статуса перевода в любое время.
Наши координаторы используют системы автоматизированного перевода, чтобы контролировать статус работы. В режиме онлайн они наблюдают прогресс (в процентах) каждого переводчика. Если переводчик отклоняется от графика, координаторы принимают меры.
По статистике большая часть ошибок происходит от невнимательности или из-за спешки. Контролируя процесс, мы гарантируем, что переводчики работают в оптимальном темпе, а значит, у выполненного ими перевода будет отличное качество.